Solomon Football > News > Pacific Games New Caledonia 2011 > Final cut applied to Bonitos squad

Final cut applied to Bonitos squad

The list of the players was submitted to the National Olympic Committee of Solomon Islands (NOCSI) on Thursday last week for finalising the travel arrangements for the team. A public announcement, however, was delayed to allow time for the team management to inform all the players.
The final list comes with few surprises as the main core of the team has been maintained. The only surprise inclusion is James Naka who underwent a major operation in June but his winning performance for Rewa in Fiji was enough indication for Jacob Moli call up the utility player.
In the goalkeeping department the experienced Severino Aefi has been left out in favour of the younger Jimmy Qwaina. However, Shadrack Ramoni will be on hand to show the ropes to his colleague who will be making his debut at a regional competition.
Besides Aefi the other players that have not made the cut are Stanley Waita, Joachim Waroi, Gideon Omokirio and Aleck Wickham. Wickham is yet to recover from a groin injury sustained during the recent friendly matches in Vanuatu. Omokirio has opted out from the squad to attend a technical program for beach soccer which will be taking place in Italy.
No changes have been made in the attacking department with Abraham Iniga, Benjamin Totori, Ian Paia and Joe Luwi still maintaining their relatively safe positions in the squad since the 25-man training squad was announced a fortnight ago. While Naka will be based in the midfield it is expected that he will interchange with any of the forwards should his services be required in the front line.
The Bonitos will meet Guam in their opening match at the Pacific Games this Saturday.
Solomon Bonitos Pacific Games Final Squad
1. Shadrack Ramoni – Koloale (SOL)
2. Jimmy Qwaina – Hana (SOL)
1. Hadisi Aengari – Solomon Warriors (SOL)
2. Samson Takayama – Koloale (SOL)
3. Tome Faisi – KOSSA (SOL)
4. Seni Ngava – KOSSA (SOL)
5. Timothy Joe – Western United SOL)
6. Nelson Sale – Amicale (VAN)
7. George Suri – Koloale (SOL)
1. Henry Fa’arodo Jnr. – Koloale (SOL)
2. Joe Manu – Hana (SOL)
3. Mostyn Beui – Koloale (SOL)
4. Joses Nawo – Koloale (SOL)
5. Jeffery Bule – Koloale (SOL)
6. Michael Fifii – Canterbury United (NZL)
7. James Naka – Rewa (FIJ)
1. Joe Luwi – Tafea (VAN)
2. Abraham Iniga – Marist Fire (SOL)
3. Benjamin Totori – Koloale (SOL)
4. Ian Paia – Koloale (SOL)
Team Officials
1. Team Manager – William Lai
2. Head Coach – Jacob Moli
3. Asst. Coach – Rex Masuaku

Related posts