Solomon Football > News > OFC Women’s Nations Cup 2010 > Kirios outclassed by PNG 2 to 1

Kirios outclassed by PNG 2 to 1

The start of the match was already unsettling for the Kirios who missed 3 key players due to religious convictions.
Rose Gwali, Alice Olomane and Ileen Pegi were missing from the starting line up against Papua New Guinea and this was enough to cause an upset in the Timothy Inifiri’s game plan.
Gwali was especially needed in defence and her leadership as captain was sorely missed during the match.
While it took PNG almost half an hour to get on the score sheet there control of the game up to their first goal was absolute.
Zeena Limbai provided the lead for PNG in the 29th minute. Her well taken free kick curved beyond the reach of Betty Sade and found the back of the net to reward the efforts of her team.
PNG created some more scoring opportunities in the remaining period of the first half but their finishing was not right.
Solomon Islands, on the other hand, still had not found their rhythm and remained frustrated until half time.
PNG returned in the second half with more vigour and broke Solomon Islands down for the second time in the match with a Des Siniu header in the 48th minute to increase their lead to 2 – 0. Limbai provided the cross.
The next 36 minutes of the match went by without a goal even though more scoring opportunities were created by both teams.
Solomon Islands only goal of the match came in the 84th minute from substitute Mesalyn Saepio. Prudence Fula set Saepio up with a neat pass and the youngster was able to control her shot to beat the PNG goalkeeper.
PNG regained control of the game after Saepio’s goal but neither they nor the Kirios could do any thing more to their tallies for the game as the referee called full time.
The Kirios will play Fiji in their final pool match on Monday. They need a win for a chance to get into the semi finals.
Solomon Islands: 1. Betty SADE (GK), 3. Belinda SUSANA, 4. Brenda MASAE, 5. Audrey GALO, 7. Raymalyn ZOZE, 9. Betty MAENU’U, 10. Mary MAEFITI, 11. Veronica TOLIVAKA, 12. Ella MISIBINI, 15. Pauline EREWAI, 17. Prudence FULA
Papua New Guinea: 1. Linda BUNAGA (GK), 2. Esther KURABI, 3. Miriam LANTA, 8. Honekaii LINAH, 9. Daisy WINAS, 10. Sandra BIRUM, 11. Zeena LIMBAI, 13. Sammy PENINSA, 14. Caroline MOEDER, 15. Deslyne SINIU, 16. Lydia BANABAS

Related posts