Malaita book grand final spot

However, the score line fails to describe how Malaita were made to fight for their win by a well organised Isabel side that obviously aimed for the grand final themselves in spite of coming up against a very tough opponent.
The opening minutes of the match belonged to Isabel who could do everything that they wanted in Malaita’s half of the field except find the back of the net much to the frustration of their substitutions bench and supporters.
Malaita struggled to gain their footing but their efforts up front looked more promising but they had to wait until the 19th minute before they could break the deadlock with Jeffery Bule slotting home from just outside the 6-yard box.
Malaita lost whatever control they had before scoring and Isabel were back on the prowl in their side again going close a number of times before their lanky forward, Junior Tivo, hammered home a pass strong pass just in front of the goalmouth to draw level with their opponents at 1 – 1.
After the first 2 goals both sides seemed to lose their composure and neither registered anything worth mentioning in terms of scoring and the 1 – 1 draw stayed intact until the second half.
Returning in the second half the 2 sides exchanged scoring opportunities but it took till the 80th minute for another goal to be scored and Malaita were the claimants.
In a classic combination of speed and accuracy Malaita exchanged only 2 passes in their quick counter-attack to score courtesy of Primo Mike whom Ian Paia set up with a well weighted pass.
Within five (5) minutes the win was sealed for Malaita when substitute Solomon Misimake scored from close range to put them 3 – 1 in front and they held their lead through to the finish line.
Malaita will meet either Honiara or Choiseul in the grand final depending on who wins the second semi final that will be played later today.
Match officials: Referee – John IROMEA; Assistant Referee 1 – Selwyn Cole; Assistant Referee 2 – Phillip Mana; Fourth official – Kere Baocheche
Malaita: David LAFAI, Fanai KOTI, Johnson SELWYN, John STEE, Moses SAENI, Junior LEVI, Terry BROWN, Primo MIKE, Francis LAFAI, Ian PAIA, Jeffery BULE Subs: George IKA, Ricardo WHITE, Benuel NENO, Steward RAMO, Jack JETHRO, Solomon MISIMAKE, Paul FERA’ANISIA
Coach: Charles IROBINA
Isabel: Silas SEDA, Mark GENORA, Karsley FIKA, Willie LAMANI, Patrick KALO, Keith LOSI, Lynton DAUARA, Samuel OSIFELO, Stanley PUIRANA, Junior TIVO, Rolex FAMANI Subs: Errol KOLITEVO, Obed OFEA, Carlson GILBERT, Harry TEVI, Samuel MOTUI, Selwyn RANO, David RAMOKASA
Coach: Fred OSIFELO
Goals: Jeffery BULE [MAL] 19’; Junior TIVO [ISA] 34’; Primo MIKE [MAL] 80’; Solomon MISIMAKE [MAL] 85’
Cautions: Junior TIVO [ISA] 5’; Terry BROWN [MAL] 37’; Rolex FAMANI [ISA] 50’; Selwyn RANO [ISA] 73’
Expulsions: Nil

Related posts