Solomon Football > News > Telekom S-League 2011/12 > Koloale 4 v Western United 1

Koloale 4 v Western United 1

Western United had an excellent start to the season after opening with wins against KOSSA and Solomon Warriors but Koloale saw past their strengths and eased to their second straight win in the season. The win is sure to boost confidence in the team as they prepare to head to Vanuatu for their O-League clash against Amicale.
Henry Fa’arodo Jnr. put Koloale in front after 16 minutes of play following a corner kick from James Naka. The cross dropped nicely for Totori in the box but the striker unselfishly flipped the ball over to the unmarked Fa’arodo Jnr. who hammered the shot into the back of the net. Koloale’s lead was short lived, however, as Western United equalised within a minute. Commins Menapi intercepted a pass from Cecil Buru and he took the ball into the penalty box before slotting the ball past Shadrack Ramoni.
Koloale were back in front in the 32nd minute when Ian Paia’s shot deflected off John Iani before swerving past the Western United goalkeeper, Felix Ray Jnr. The defenders expected Paia to dribble into the box as he usually does but this time he broke the norm and fired from 22 yards out.
The second half was marked with desperation for Western United as they tried to find a way back into the game. Things were made much more difficult when Totori took Koloale’s lead to 3 – 1 just 2 minutes after the restart.
It was all over for Western United when Totori struck again in stoppage time to takes the score line to 4 – 1. The final goal brought out the best in the striker as he beat both the last defender and the goalkeeper before rolling the ball into the empty goal.
The win puts Koloale on top in the Telekom S-League league ladder ahead of Hana who slip to second place following their loss earlier in the afternoon. Western United slip to third place after this loss.
Line ups
Koloale: 20. Shadrack Ramoni; 30 Francis Lafai; 3. Freddie Kini; 15. Mostyn Beui; 11. Ian Paia; 9. Benjamin Totori; 19. Joses Nawo; 4. Cecil Buru; 7. Henry Fa’arodo Jnr. 26. Molis Gagame Jnr. 27. James NakaSubs: 13. Lency Saeni; 23. Steve Anisi; 2. Isreal K. Fanai; 21. David Lafai; 24. Willy Daudau
Coach: Peter Eke
Western United: 15. Jilini Alo; 8. Izomo Bird; 16. Loni Qaraba; 4. John Iani; 9. Moffat Kilifa; 3. Derol Melo; 11. Commins Menapi; 22. Felix Ray Jnr. (GK); 14. Mostyn Sanga; 5. Max Ruku; 10. Nathan Kera Subs: 1. Izomo Bird; 12. Lenson Bisili; 17. Coleman Makau; 7. Himson Teleda
Coach: Stefan Metanolmski
Match Officials
Referee: Gerald Oiaka
Assistant Referee 1: David Selwyn
Assistant Referee 2: Douglas Meke
Fourth Official: Nelson Sogo

Related posts