Solomon Football > News > Senior National team > Wim Rijsbergen arrive this week

Wim Rijsbergen arrive this week

Solomon Islands national team coach Wim Rijsbergen is expected to arrive in the country on Friday, May 3 to select his travelling squad for the Netherlands camp in preparation for the Pacific Games in July 2019.

The 67-year-old is excited about the challenge to take the helm of the Solomon Islands football team having coach Indonesia and Trinidad and Tobago.

“What a great opportunity to get to know other people, to get to know football in that part of the world,” the Dutch great said of his appointment as Solomon Islands coach.

“This not a job to make a lot of money, you have to enjoy it.

“I am traveling for many, many years as a coach all over the world so I thought why not, once in a lifetime.”

Rijsbergen will have his first sessions with the recently named 40-man squad on Thursday, Saturday and Monday.

Meanwhile, SIFF Technical Department has called on all 40 players drafted in the training squad for a briefing at SIFF headquarter on Monday 29 April at 5 pm.



  1. Philip MANGO (Solomon Warriors)
  2. Demond TUTU (Henderson Eels)
  3. Timothy MAERASIA (Solomon Warriors
  4. Joel NANAGO (Henderson Eels)


  1. Emmanuel POILA (Solomon Warriors)
  2. Richard IROMANA (KOSSA FC)
  3. Haddis AENGARI (Solomon Warriors)
  4. Allen PETER (Solomon Warriors)
  5. Michael BOSO (Suva FC)
  6. Boni PRIDE (Henderson Eels)
  7. Fred FAKARI (Solomon Warriors)
  8. Junior DAVID (Hekari United)
  9. Junior AENGARI ( Solomon Warriors)
  10. Richard RARAMO (KOSSA FC)
  11. Andrew RARANGIA (Henderson Eels)
  12. John AETA (Marist FC)
  13. Junior ASHLEY (Real Kakamora FC)


  1. Atkin KAUA (Solomon Warriors)
  2. Gagame FENI (Suva FC)
  3. Micah LEA’ALAFA (Auckland City)
  4. Jerry DONGA (Solomon Warriors)
  5. Timothy BAKALE (Solomon Warriors)
  6. Tutizama TANITO (Henderson Eels)
  7. Alwin HOU (Solomon Warriors)
  8. Dennis IFUNAOA (Labasa FC)
  9. Augustine WAITA (Henderson Eels)
  10. Rodney SURI (Henderson Eels)
  11. Tigi MOLEA (Solomon Warriors)
  12. Henley RAMO (Malaita Kingz)
  13. Frank KABUI (Malaita Kingz)
  14. Thomas AMASIA (Marist FC)
  15. Patrick TAROGA (Marist FC)
  16. Obed OFEA (Henderson Eels)


  1. Benjamin TOTOR (Lautoka FC)
  2. Raynick LAETA (Henderson Eels)
  3. Joses NAWO (Henderson Eels)
  4. Adrian MARA (Real Kakamora)
  5. Mathias IANI (Marist FC)
  6. Darold KAKASI (Ba FC)
  7. Andrew ABA (Waitakere United)