Solomon Football > News > Telekom S-League > TSL top four receive accolades

TSL top four receive accolades

Telekom S-League top four teams have received their honors on Wednesday 19th December at the annual TSL Awards ceremony held at Telekom House in Honiara.

TSL Board Chairman, Loyley Ngira congratulates all the winning top four teams Solomon Warriors, Henderson Eels, KOSSA FC and Malaita Kingz.

“Congratulations to Solomon Warriors and Henderson Eels for qualifying for the OFC competition”, the Our Telekom CEO said.

“Congratulations to KOSSA FC and Malaita Kingz for the third and fourth placing.

“I also congratulates FC Guadalcanal, Marist FC, Real Kakamora and Western United for your dedication in the TSL 2018 season.

“The TSL Board thanks all supporting sponsors of football in the TSL season, without this shared value in football, it will be very difficult to have a successful tournament.”

Telekom S-League Board Chairman Loyley Ngira. Photo: Simon Abana via SIFF Media

Ngira highlighted Solomon Islands clubs have never win Oceania’s premier club competition which is a challenge for the two qualifying clubs this season.

“Winning the top position of the regional competition has eluded Solomon Islands representatives till now, which begs me to challenge our two clubs bring back the trophy and make the football community proud as we head towards the Pacific Games 2023”, he added.

SIFF president, William Lai also shared the same sentiments stating Solomon Warriors are favourites to end that drought when the OFC Champions League starts early next year.

SIFF CEO Leonard Paia and Telekom rep hand the second prize to Henderson Eels coach Eddie Marahare. Photo: Simon Abana via SIFF Media

“We always believe we are better when it comes to football in Oceania and that put lots of expectation from us”, the SIFF president said.

“I would like to see Solomon Warriors have a go at winning the O-League next year.”

Presenting the awards yesterday were some the TSL Board members, SIFF president William Lai, CEO Leonard Paia and Technical Director Felipe Vega-Arango.

A Telekom Rep and TSL Board memeber George Rausi present the third prize to KOSSA coach Vivian Wickham. Photo: Simon Abana via SIFF Media

Champions Solomon Warriors retain the TSL title for the sixth consecutive season running.

Warriors were $250,000.00 richer as 2018 champions who also received 30 gold medals.

Henderson Eels walked away with $150,000.00 as runners-up and 30 silver medals.

KOSSA FC gets $120,000.00 as third place winners and 30 bronze medals while fourth place Malaita Kingz received $75,000.00.

Meanwhile, the individual awards will be presented next year after the TSL Championship Series.

SIFF Technical Director (Centre) with Solomon Warriors trio Emmanuel Polia, Jerry Donga and Haddis Aeganri. Photo: Simon Abana via SIFF Media


Related posts