Solomon Football > News > UEFA development tournament > Solomon Islands U-17 invited to play in Europe

Solomon Islands U-17 invited to play in Europe

Solomon Islands national U-17 World Cup bound side has been invited by UEFA to participate in the UEFA development tournament set to be held in April in Belarus.

Before heading to Belarus, the team will travel via England for a training camp and to play Jersey youth side. Jersey is an affiliate to English FA.

UEFA Head of N.A International Relations Eva Pasquier confirmed Solomon Islands is officially invited to participate in the youth tournament to help give the young players game time against some of European promising talents.

“In respect to the schedule we propose the team should arrive on 25 April in England and leave for Minsk for the UEFA development tournament which will be held from 29 April to 4 May in Belarus”, he said.

“Should you agree to stay few days longer in Europe, UEFA will cover all relevant coasts. We allow for 20 players and 5 officials.”

Young footballer are being given a wonderful chance to showcase their talents and make crucial progress as players through UEFA’s international development tournaments as such.

Solomon Islands will know later which teams they will play once the draws is finalized.

The traditional football competitions will be held in Minsk Football Arena and ABFF Court. This year the national teams of Belgium, Bulgaria, Georgia, Israel, Iceland, Lithuania, Moldova, Slovakia, Tajikistan, Ukraine and Finland used to compete for the main trophy of the tournament. In autumn six participating teams, including Belarus, Belgium, Slovakia, Israel, Iceland and Ukraine, made their way into the elite round of the UEFA European Championship U-17, 2017/2018 season.

“Development Cup” is a serious international experience for any young player. Such tournaments give young footballers the opportunity to master their skills. This is where the future leaders of national teams show themselves. Over the years, Stanislav Dragun, Egor Filipenko, Denis Polyakov, Sergey Politevich and Pavel Savitsky had managed to shine at the tournament. Today, these players defend the colors of the national team of the Republic of Belarus.

At the moment, most of the victories were held by the Russian national team, which won the trophy five times (2008, 2010, 2014, 2015, 2017), four times the championship was celebrated by Ukraine (2009, 2012, 2016 and 2018), the Belgian team became the first two times ( 2011, 2013), and in 2005 there was no equal to the team of Serbia and Montenegro.

Meanwhile, National U-17 coach Stanley Waita will soon name a travelling squad of 20 players.

The invitation is part of a new partnership between UEFA, OFC and SIFF to help Solomon Island preparation towards the FIFA U-17 World Cup in Peru.





Related posts