Solomon Football > News > FIFA World Cup Qualifiers Stage 3 > Squad for home game revealed

Squad for home game revealed

The 18-man squad was named after it was revealed to players in a meeting held on Saturday. Sixteen local based players are in the squad while two overseas based players are expected to join them on Monday. The selection was based on 10-weeks of training that saw 34 players initially called in the training squad.
Seven players in the squad are looking to make their international debut for Bonitos including futsal international Coleman Makau who was called in to replace Leslie Nate who was dropped due to injury. The rest of the players have already worn the yellow, blue and white of the Bonitos but generally the team is dominated by younger and less experienced players.
In what is good news for the Bonitos both Benjamin Totori and Henry Fa’arodo Jnr. will fly in from Auckland to add some surety to the team. Travel arrangements for the duo were met by the Solomon Islands government and they should have at least one training session with the local players before the match on Tuesday. Both internationals featured in Solomon Islands 2-0 loss to Tahiti on Saturday.
Unfortunately, efforts to engage Nelson Sale and Joses Nawo to join the squad were unsuccessful. Both players quoted unpaid allowances and non-inclusion in the squad for the Tahiti away game as a reason for their refusal to play for the national team. Sale and Nawo are in Vanuatu and will arrive with Amicale on Tuesday for their Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) Champions League game against Solomon Warriors on Saturday.
All Solomon Warriors players named in the training squad are excluded from the final list due to a request by the club to excuse them for OFC Champions League duty with their club. Initially, some of the top players of Solomon Warriors were asked to join the national team including midfielderJudd Molea and defender Hadisi Aengari.
The full list for the Bonitos is as follows: goalkeepers – Leon Fox and Samson Koti; defenders – George Wagena, Adika Maeta, Arnold Keni, Freddie Kini and David Houpere; midfielders – Coleman Makau, Tutizama Tanito, Himson Teleda, Leonard Rokoto, Paul Hiri and Henry Fa’arodo Jnr.; forwards – Joe Luwi, Ian Paia, Clifford Wate, Tinoni Ratu and Benjamin Totori.
The match with New Zealand takes place at 3:00pm on Tuesday at Lawson Tama stadium. Tickets will be selling at $70 for the grandstand and $20 for adults and $10 for children on the hillside.

Related posts