Solomon Football > News > OFC Congress > Alufurai retains OFC position

Alufurai retains OFC position

This will be Alufurai’s second term having already served 4 years in the OFC Executive Committee under the presidency of Reynald Temarii.
Returning from the congress on Tuesday Alufurai said that the result is good for SIFF and for football in Solomon Islands.
“Solomon Islands is an important member association within OFC and having a presence in the executive committee will help us contribute to football development in the region,” says Alufurai.
Papua New Guinea Football Association (PNGFA) President, David Chung, won the OFC presidency unopposed in a historical achievement for one of the biggest member countries of OFC.
The other candidates for the presidency, Fred de Jong and Frank van Hattum, both of New Zealand, withdrew their candidacy before the voting began, thus, handing over the OFC presidency to Chung who takes over from Temarii for the next 4 years.
The following candidates were also elected to the OFC executive committee:
– Fred de Jong (New Zealand Football)
– Lee Harmon (Cook Islands Football Association)
– Dr Sahu Khan (Fiji Football Association)
– Lambert Maltock (Vanuatu Football Federation)
– Toetu Petana (Football Federation Samoa)
– Honourable Ve’ehala (Tonga Football Association)