Solomon Football > News > OFC U-17 Championship 2011 New Zealand > Katukatus clinch third place

Katukatus clinch third place

Solomon Islands coach Chris Asipara had to make some changes to his line up with the suspension of key defender, Fred Bala, after clocking 2 yellow cards during their group stage matches with captain Dickson Bua dropping back from midfield to take his place and Maeron Fa’arodo joining the 3 remaining midfielders.
Despite having a strong draft in their favour it was Katukatu goalkeeper, Jerry Misimake, who was called into action early saving volleys from Michel Coulon and Jean Kaltak who found space inside the penalty area.
The Katukatus put things their way when Harrison Mala provided for Solo Kuki to finish off at the back post in the 13th minute.
One nil in front and with the bulk of game yet to be played the Katukatus were constantly under pressure as the Vanuatu side came looking for the equaliser and save the linesman’s flag Jean Kaltak could have given them just that in 25th minute.
The Katukatus were able to give themselves a buffer just a minute later when Mala who created his side’s first goal got in on the action when Alex Waimora placed a neat pass for him to score from inside the penalty box.
Vanuatu refused to give in and they tried hard to get on the score sheet through Jean Kaltak but again and again they were frustrated by a solid Katukatu defence.
The second half saw more efforts from Vanuatu but the Katukatus firmly held their ground to finish comfortable winners at 2 – 0.
Head of Delegation, Phillip Ohoto’ona, was satisfied with the win saying that the Katukatus have done well to regroup after losing to Tahiti in their second game of the championship.
“It is goodafter losing our match against Tahiti to win all our remaining matches in the championship. Vanuatu was a tough opponent and the win today required our players to give extra and I thank the players,” Ohoto’ona says.
The grand final match was won by New Zealand defeating Tahiti by 2 – 0.
Match Officials:
Referee: Norbert HAUATA (TAH)
Assistant Referee 1: Mark RULE (NZL)
Assistant Referee 2: David CHARLES (PNG)
4th Official: Mike HESTER (NZL)
Vanuatu (VAN): [ 1] Selonie IARUEL (GK); [ 2] Raoul COULON; [ 3] Jais MALSARANI; [ 4] Channell OBED; [ 5] Jelene WAIWAI; [ 8] Barry MANSALE; [ 9] Santino MERMER; [10] Abraham ROQUARA (C); [11] Jean KALTAK; [14] Michel COULON; [19] Tony KALTAK Substitutes: [16] Julian KALOTANG (GK); [ 6] Romain CARLOT; [ 7] Yoan BEN; [12] Steve LOLTEN; [13] Steve SAILAS; [15] Xavier MASSING; [17] Daniel TENENE; [18] George MAHIT; [20] Andre KALSELIK
Coach: Wilson AUGUST (VAN)
Solomon Islands (SOL): [20]Jerry MISIMAKE (GK); [ 4] Rickson UVI; [ 5] Junior ALBERT; [ 6] Jimmy RARAMANE; [ 8] Dickson BUA (C); [ 9] Gabriel BOSI; [10] Harrison MALA; [15] Solo KUKI; [16] Alex WAIMORA; [18] George LADOGA; [19] Maeron FA’ARODO Substitutes: [ 1] Phillip MANGO (GK); [ 3] Benjamin POLU; [ 7] Clarence BONSLEY; [11] John BITIAI; [12] Fredrick DOLA; [13] Oswin BWAGI; [14] Eric MASON; [17] Atana FA’ARODO
Coach: Chris ASIPARA(SOL)
Goals: [15] Solo KUKI 13′ (SOL); [10] Harrison MALA 26′ (SOL)
Cautions: Nil
Expulsions: Nil
Substitutions: (SOL) 58′ Gabriel BOSI [9] by Oswin BWAGI [13]; (VAN) 61′ Jean KALTAK [11] by George MAHIT [18]; (VAN) 71′ Michel COULON [14] by Steve LOLTEN [12]; (SOL) 71′ Solo KUKI [15] by Clarence BONSLEY [7]; (VAN) 79′ Tony KALTAK [19] by Daniel TENENE [17]; (SOL) 84′ Harrison MALA [10] by Fredrick DOLA [12]

Related posts