Solomon Football > News > Kids football festival > Colorful ceremony opens kids festival

Colorful ceremony opens kids festival

The fourteen (14) participating primary schools from all over Solomon Islands paraded to claps and cheers from the spectators and the guests as they entered Lawson Tama.
The opening ceremony was enriched with the presence of high profile guests including the Minister for Education and Human Resource Development, Hon. Dick Ha’amori, Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) President, Reynald Temarii and Chief Executive Officer of Our Telekom, Loyley Ngira.
Even the falling rain could not dampen the spirits of the participating children as they listened to speeches from some of the influential leaders in the country and the region.
CEO of Our Telekom, Ngira outlined his support for the kids festival event saying that Our Telekom supports total football development and the gathering of the schools for the kids festival in Honiara is a testament to this support.
Hon. Ha’amori commended SIFF for organising the event and congratulated SIFF for its hard work in promoting and developing football.
Hon. Ha’amori officially declared the kids football festival open after presenting his speech.
President Temarii’s used his speech to call for a closer partnership between SIFF and the government to support programs like the kids festival.
Temarii also mentioned in his speech the achievements of SIFF with beach soccer and Futsal in the international scene and said Solomon Islanders should be proud of what football and footballers have achieved for the country.
The opening ceremony marks the beginning of 1 week of football, cultural and education activities for the participating schools.
Education programs have already started for the schools including a presentation on reproductive health which was held on Sunday night.
The program will expand into coaching and the football competitions today plus the first cultural night activities.
The kids festival program ends on Saturday.
The Our Telekom National Football, Cultural Exchange and Education Festival participating schools are:
1. Pokilo from Savo, Central Islands Province
2. Parego from East Makira, Makira Ulawa Province
3. Poitete, Kolombangara, Western Province
4. Kulu, North East Guadalcanal, Guadalcanal Province
5. Ogho, Choiseul Province
6. Chung Wah, Honiara
7. Lilura, Gao District, Isabel Province
8. Gwaigeo, Kwara’ae, Malaita Province
9. Marou Bay, West Makira, Makira Ulawa Province
10. Tamboko, North West Guadalcanal, Guadalcanal Province
11. Paqoe, Choiseul Province
12. St. John, Honiara
13. Vanua, Rennel, Rennel Bellona Province
14. Kilusakwalo, Kwara’ae, Malaita Province

Related posts