Solomon Football > News > Our Telekom kids football festival > Kilusakwalo are 2010 kids festival champions

Kilusakwalo are 2010 kids festival champions

Earlier in the day Kilusakwalo had ousted their sister school Gwaigeo in true finals fashion beating them 3 – 2 in the penalty shootout after regulation time finished 0 – 0.
Their grand final opponents reached the grand final courtesy of the scalp of fellow Makira Ulawa school Marou Bay. Two (2) goals from Bernard Tamasia topped of a strong performance from Parego to set up their meeting with Kilusakwalo.
Kilusakwalo found themselves a tough opponent in Parego who continuously pressured their defences for an opening from very early in the match.
However, Kilusakwalo did not let up their guard and kept the Makirans frustrated throughout althought several instances of individual brilliance almost saw them give the lead away.
Neither team could find the breakthrough that was needed in the first half so each had to leave the field for the halftime break without a clear contender for the title.
In the second half the match was more urgent and slowly Kilusakwalo found their rhythm. Repeated advances into the Parego danger zone gave their strikers a little more confidence to use their time effectively.
The goal that gave them the title was the result of good pressure and the slowness of the Parego defence to recover.
A poor clearance by a Parego defender returned the ball to Kilusakwalo and the chance was given to Gray to put his team in front and he made it look easy with a low shot that slid under the Parego goalie.
Parego tried to come back into the game after Gray’s goal but time was not on their side and Kilusakwalo were able to hold on to their lead and finish the game as the 2010 winners.
The third and fourth playoff was won by Gwaigeo who beat Marou Bay 2 – 0. Goals from Loncy To’ofilu and Marie Jimmy in the first and secondhalf respectively were enough to get them home.
Summary of finals results
Match Date Time Team A Score v Score Team B Venue
Semifinal 1 25-09-10 2:00pm Parego 2 0 Marou Bay Academy North
Semifinal 2 25-09-10 2:00pm Kilusakwalo 3 2 Gwaigeo Academy South
Losers final 25-09-10 3:00pm Marou Bay 0 2 Gwaigeo Academy North
Grand final 25-09-10 4:00pm Parego 0 1 Kilusakwalo Academy North

Related posts