Solomon Football > News > Telekom S-League > TSL championship starts Saturday

TSL championship starts Saturday

Featuring 12 games and a total prize money of SBD$360 000 plus a chance to go into the O-League playoff with the league winner, the championship is expected to be another level up from the recently completed league series.
Solomon Islands Football Federation (SIFF) general secretary, Eddie Ngava, says that the championship gives another opportunity for TSL clubs to challenge for the right to represent Solomon Islands in the O-League.
“The league provides clubs with the first level opportunity to qualify for the O-League. The championship gives them another chance to force the league winner into a playoff. Besides qualifying for the O-League, clubs have the opportunity to win big money through the championship,” Ngava says.
The format
The format chosen for the TSL championship involves all 8 clubs but they are divided into 4 groups of 2 clubs each. How they are matched up against each other is based upon their standings from the league series. The top 4 teams will be playing against the bottom 4 teams in the following manner:
Group A – 1st Placed v. 8th Placed [Koloale v. Real Kakamora]
Group B – 2nd Placed v. 7th Placed [Solomon Warriors v. Marist Fire]
Group C – 3rd Placed v. 6th Placed [KOSSA v. Hana]
Group D – 4th Placed v. 5th Placed [Western United v. Malaita Kingz]
Each group will be played on a home-and-away basis and the winner from the group will proceed to the semi-finals and then onto the finals. The away goal rule comes into play during the championship and a clear winner must be determined after the home-and-away matches have been played.
O-League playoff
Should a club other than the winner of the Telekom S-League league series wins the championship then the competition will proceed into the O-League playoff. The O-League playoff shall be a home-and-away series between the winner of the league and the winner of the championship. If the winner of the championship is the same as the winner of the league, then no playoff shall ensue, thus meaning that the winner of both competitions gains automatic entry.
The first championship match is between Real Kakamora and Koloale and will kick off on Saturday at 2:00pm. This will be followed by the second match between Marist Fire and Solomon Warriors at 4:00pm. [Refer to fixtures for full schedule.]

Related posts