Solomon Football > News > 2014 Telekom S-League > Championship kicks off this weekend

Championship kicks off this weekend

Western United, Solomon Warriors, Hana, Real Kakamora, KOSSA, Malaita Kingz, Koloale and Marist will take part in the championship which sees them compete in four groups dubbed A to D. Each group composes of two clubs based on their standing in the league competition.
The format entails that first placed team plays the eight placed team, the second placed team plays the seventh placed team and so forth. Hence, the groupings for the championship are as follows:
• Group A: Western United, Marist
• Group B: Solomon Warriors, Koloale
• Group C: Real Kakamora, KOSSA
• Group D: Hana, Malaita Kingz
The clubs in each group will play their opponent in a home-and-away series with the winner of each series proceeding to the semi-finals of the competition. A winner must be determined at the end of each tie and the away goal rule plus extra-time and penalties may be utilised for this purpose.
The winners of the semi-finals will play for the grand prize plus the championship award. Second placed club will collect $80 000.00 and the third placed club $60 000.00.
With the league now complete and the representative club for the Oceania Football Championship (OFC) Champions League determined the championship offers clubs another opportunity claim from the season’s prize basket of $600 000.00.
For some clubs, there is pride to be regained and while winning the championship may not mean much in terms of qualifying for the regional club meet, it maybe what they need to regain confidence ahead of the new season which starts later this year.
Our Telekom is the major sponsor of the Telekom S-League championship.
Round 1:
Sat. 21/02 1400hrs Western United v Marist
Sat. 21/02 1600hrs Solomon Warriors v Koloale
Sun. 22/02 1400hrs Real Kakamora v KOSSA
Sat. 22/02 1600hrs Hana v Malaita Kingz

Related posts