Solomon Football > News > SIFF Congress > Lai heads new SIFF exco

Lai heads new SIFF exco

It was a landslide victory for Honiara Football Association (HFA) president, William Lai, who won the SIFF presidency by 15 votes to 1. The new vice president, Eddie Omokirio, president of Malaita Football Association (MFA), was voted in in similar fashion over his opponent.
The ordinary members in the committee are Tommy Mana, president of Makira Ulawa Football Association (MUFA), Adrian Gina, vice-president of Western Football Association (WFA) and Angeline Vave. The latter was voted in as per provisions in the new SIFF statutes which required that at least one of the members must be a woman.
The new executive committee has a term of four years and ends the year and a half period in which SIFF was placed under FIFA administration following the collapse of the former administration in 2012. SIFF was then run by the FIFA appointed normalisation committee led by Barnabas Anga and members Adrian Wickham, Henry Kapu and Primo Afeau.
Chairman of the former normalisation committee, Barnabas Anga, was pleased with the proceedings and acknowledged his members for their contribution.
“I wish to thank all the members of SIFF for their contribution to the Congress today and to my committee for their hard work over the last 18 months,” Anga says. “We wish the new executive committee all the best in leading football for our country.”
Lai thanked the former normalisation committee for their leadership and called for unity for the future of Solomon Islands football.
“I wish to thank the SIFF normalisation committee for lifting football from despair. You have done an excellent job,” Lai says.
“We now look forward to the work that needs to be continued and to the cooperation of members and partners for football.”
The next elective congress for SIFF is in 2019.

Related posts