Solomon Football > News > OFC 2011 Futsal Championship > Kurukuru OFC qualifiers squad named

Kurukuru OFC qualifiers squad named

This announcement brings closer another testing time for football followers in Solomon Islands since this team will be bearing the hopes of the country in the attempt to qualify for the FIFA Futsal World Cup which will be held in Thailand in 2012.
The 2011 line-up is not very different from the 2010 team that clinched the 2010 Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) Futsal Championship title in style in Suva with wins against all their opponents including a 21 – 2 drubbing of minnows Tuvalu.
This time, however, the regional champions are aware of the preparations of their opponents and pressure is mounting from teams like New Zealand, Tahiti and Fiji who are eyeing the opportunity to steal the title away from the 3-time winners and represent Oceania in Thailand.
The two (2) goalkeepers Paul Huia and David Lafai have both retained their place in the team and so have 9 other players including captain Elliot Ragomo and forwards Micah Lea’alafa and Jack Wetney who are vital to the strength of the Kurukuru side.
The only new player in the squad is Samuel Osifelo who replaces Jenan Kapu who has been struggling with injuries in recent months and has been rested so that he can recover fully before returning to training.
Osifelo is new in the sense that he was not in the last 3 teams that represented Solomon Islands in the OFC championships but in 2008 he was among the players that brought the country to its first FIFA Futsal World Cup so his experience and ability with the ball are well shaped.
Huia has been one of the concerns of the team management but he has overcome his injuries is now fully fit and will be performing a key role for the team in preventing goals and resetting counterattacks.
Head coach, Dickson Kadau, is confident that he has the right team to the job in Suva but he is aware of the threat posed by New Zealand and Tahiti who have been working hard as well.
“These boys have worked very hard and we are aware of the goals that we have and what we need to do to achieve them,” Kadau says.
“I know a certain amount of pressure will be on us but my players are experienced and I have full faith in them. This year will be tougher than the last 2 championships because it is the qualifiers and everyone wants to make it to the world cup. Our job is to make sure that we come out on top and we have prepared since last year towards this.”
The 2011 OFC Futsal Championship will be held at the Vodafone Arena in Suva, Fiji from 13 – 21 May.
The Kurukuru team list:
1. Elliot Ragomo (C)
2. James Egeta
3. Jack Wetney
4. Micah Lea’alafa
5. Coleman Makau
6. Moffat Sikwa’ae
7. George Stevenson
8. Jeffery Bule
9. Lenson Bisili
10. Samuel Osifelo
11. David Lafai
12. Paul Huia
Non-travelling reserves:
1. Matthis Saru
2. Dickson Ramo
3. Stanley Puairana
4. Alick Lioka Jnr.
Team Officials:
Mapuru Tausinga – Team Manager
Dickson Kadau – Head coach
Jerry Sam – Assistant coach